31 responses to Take a Break

  1. When I do this, I often find I didn’t miss a thing. I cannot say the same thing about the things missed while on social media. The things that matter, such as simple moments with the family.

    Liked by 7 people

  2. Floating Speck says:

    I am planning to stay off ALL social media this weekend and actually spend time in the real world! Nature is so beautiful and maybe I will get lucky and take a nice photo ! Have a great weekend 💞

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I wish I could but its like either the phone or the ipad or the laptop have some sort of magnet that just pulls me in… i know i should tho… 😩 Ithink my poor blog there all alone.. and thats it am on again.. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sunnymirrors says:

    It feels good to not be part of many in the first place 🙂
    Although just to check the definition…I came across the debate on whether Whatsaap is SM or not..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dee says:

    Wise words. I know many people why literally check into their social media accounts from the time they get up on the morning, while at work and into their evening . Some get annoyed or even angry at people on their friends list, some as high as 1200 friends. I can only speak for myself but I would be overwhelmed by that amount of people for I would feel obligated to respond to their posts etc. And even though I’m extremely tech savvy and use the electronic spectrum very much, I personally don’t want to be tethered to a SM group. I enjoy my interactions but don’t want to feel chained to it. I have beautiful GSD,-, I’m a hiker and I have a family.
    Having said that, another example of the beauty of life because others may have polar opposite views regarding SM and that’s ok.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. (I’m that awkward person that doesn’t have social media, anyways…)
    Start writing letters, you’d be amazed how much it changes your viewpoint and ,to be honest, yourself.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Asha Walter says:

    Fantastic words, when we remember to take our heads out of our technology and social media, it is amazing what we can find. Life is beautiful and we should all try to be living our lives to the fullest.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Miriam says:

    Ok, I’m going right now. Off to have a cuppa, pat the dog, clean up the mess in the kitchen and forget about social media for a while! Thanks for the wake up … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Erin Marie says:

    I do this a few times a year. And reblogged an awesome post about one particular facet of social media, recently. I agree! And it should be intentionally scheduled into our semi annual routines or maybe even more often …depending on what your body, mind, level of stress and priority slippage is telling you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Aka MaKenzye says:

    I’ve taken a break from Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and snapchat. Leaving me with Pinterest and wonderful WordPress. It has been an amazing departure and I barely even miss them. I will probably join some time during the summer but as of now I love the disconnect. It’s so refreshing !

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Okoto Enigma says:

    Hello Eric. I was just wondering if you’d like to be a guest on my blog. I feel like your blog could help a lot of people out. That’s if you accept

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Michel H says:

    I removed all the social media apps from my iphone. Then I created a link on my home page to the URL of only 2 that I wanted. I turned off the notifications to my email. It has been 2 months and it has been refreshing and my battery life on my iphone has improved. Going to be brave and actually go be social in person with family and friends every weekend for the next month – instead of texting and FB. My goal is to develop a real social life.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I usually do this for at least a month each year. About a month ago, I decided to completely let go of my LinkedIn account – I thought to myself, “do I really need this?” I realized that I didn’t.

    I’m still on Facebook now, but probably later this year I’ll take another month-long break. During my breaks from social media, I find that my life goes on much as it did before – although it is generally more peaceful.

    Another practice I recommend: staying off of email and social media and doing no work for at least one day per week. It’s a way introduce peace and reflection time into your routine, but only having to commit to it one day per week. I choose to do this every week, and it allows me to start my week from a posture of rest and repose, rather than exhaustion and anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I couldn’t agree more. The world of technology is so fast, it’s quickened everything else around it – our expectations on the time it takes to do things, our expectations on how long it takes to respond to queries and requests. Social media’s a great way to keep in touch and connect with people globally but every once in a while I digitally detox. I warn my close friends & family that I’m going off digital radar except for emergencies, then I reconnect with the world for a couple of days – go for a walk, sit in the garden, meet people for face to face chats. It’s great….but I do enjoy re-establishing virtual connections too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sylvia Jo says:

    Last time I tried this was every Friday for 18 weeks… but I went beyond that and did no electronics save the stove, alarm clock.
    I read so many books, went on so many long walks and took time to learn so many new things.
    Not sure why I stopped it. Maybe I should try it again. Not so drastic tho

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Indigo Messenger Energy Healer says:

    That so true! I was thinking the other day that I should ‘brake’ that habbit ! I started by switching my phone every night ! Is going well . I will add more ‘brakes’ every week so I will be more connected in things and time that really matter! 💜✨🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I responded earlier… Since October I have spend almost all of my weekends off Facebook. I still think about whether I do it too with Instagram, but I enjoy that one. I feel less that I have to like it or response to it. But I might start with that too. Every weekend Social Media free, have to think about that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

