Advice from a Dying 24 Year-old

Came across this and felt compelled to share.


“Soon I will be gone forever, but that’s okay as long as someone reads this. I am only 24 years old, yet I have actually already chosen my last tie. It’s the one that I will wear on my funeral a few months from now. It may not match my suit, but I think it’s perfect for the occasion.

The cancer diagnosis came too late to give me at least a tenuous hope for a long life, but I realized that the most important thing about death is to ensure that you leave this world a little better than it was before you existed with your contributions . The way I’ve lived my life so far, my existence or more precisely the loss of it, will not matter because I have lived without doing anything impactful.

Before, there were so many things that occupied my mind. When I learned how much time I had left, however, it became clear which things are really important. So, I am writing to you for a selfish reason. I want to give meaning to my life by sharing with you what I have realized:

  • Don’t waste your time on work that you don’t enjoy. It is obvious that you cannot succeed in something that you don’t like. Patience, passion, and dedication come easily only when you love what you do.
  • It’s stupid to be afraid of others’ opinions. Fear weakens and paralyzes you. If you let it, it can grow worse and worse every day until there is nothing left of you, but a shell of yourself. Listen to your inner voice and go with it. Some people may call you crazy, but some may even think you‘re a legend.
  • Take control of your life Take full responsibility for the things that happen to you. Limit bad habits and try to lead a healthier life. Find a sport that makes you happy. Most of all, don’t procrastinate.Let your life be shaped by decisions you made, not by the ones you didn’t.
  • Appreciate the people around you Your friends and relatives will always be an infinite source of strength and love. That is why you shouldn’t take them for granted.

It is difficult for me to fully express my feelings about the importance of these simple realizations, but I hope that you will listen to someone who has experienced how valuable time is.

I’m not upset because I understand that the last days of my life have become meaningful. I only regret that I will not be able to see a lot of cool stuff that should happen soon like the creation of AI, or Elon Musk’s next awesome project. I also hope that the war in Syria and Ukraine will end soon.

We care so much about the health and integrity of our body that until death, we don’t notice that the body is nothing more than a box – a parcel for delivering our personality, thoughts, beliefs and intentions to this world. If there is nothing in this box that can change the world, then it doesn’t matter if it disappears. I believe that we all have potential, but it also takes a lot of courage to realize it.

You can float through a life created by circumstances, missing day after day, hour after hour. Or, you can fight for what you believe in and write the great story of your life. I hope you will make the right choice.

Leave a mark in this world. Have a meaningful life, whatever definition it has for you. Go towards it. The place we are leaving is a beautiful playground, where everything is possible. Yet, we are not here forever. Our life is a short spark in this beautiful little planet that flies with incredible speed to the endless darkness of the unknown universe. So, enjoy your time here with passion. Make it interesting. Make it count!

Thank you!”


 Click here for the original link


About Psychological Services | Click here
Website: MakeItUltraPsychology.com

Email: contact@makeitultra.com


Free Skype Consultation | Click here


The Man Behind MIU | Click here
Like on Facebook | Click here
Join Mailing List | Click here


©  2017 MAKEITULTRA.COM ALL RIGHTS RESERVED


132 responses to Advice from a Dying 24 Year-old

  1. mosesmwanzia says:

    “Life’s too short. Never waste your time on what you don’t like” that phrase really moved me. As stated in the conclusion, everything is possible. You never know if God is going to heal you from that ailment bro. But all we have to do is have faith and trust in Him. Your message impacted me to my soul. May you be blessed.

    Liked by 13 people

  2. Miriam says:

    What an incredibly inspiring post. So brave, honest and raw. Life is indeed short, none of us know when our days will be up and yet we often waste our time and energy worrying about things that don’t matter. This writing put it all into perspective for me. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 6 people

  3. ~Proud to be Step~ says:

    That’s a beautiful message, I actually know someone who is 29 and has stage 4 cancer. Every time I see her, it reminds me that a long life is not a given so I need to do everything while I can. She is fighting for her life with every breath she takes, and that could have been me or could be me in the future. Life is short, so I try to enjoy it will I can. This blog is a wonderful reminder of that as well.

    Liked by 5 people

  4. I feel a little speechless, but I also feel a lot of strength from this very brave person, we try everyday to teach people how important are time and life is, maybe this would let them see the truth behind it, thank you so much for sharing this
    Brooke

    Liked by 6 people

  5. taylorjewel says:

    Reblogged this on Intricate Purpose and commented:
    Beautiful sentiments from a 24 year old on his deathbed.

    Cancer takes too many too soon, but the words this young man chose to leave behind give me courage and strength to conquer my fears:
    “I believe that we all have potential, but it also takes a lot of courage to realize it.

    You can float through a life created by circumstances, missing day after day, hour after hour. Or, you can fight for what you believe in and write the great story of your life. I hope you will make the right choice.”

    Liked by 6 people

  6. So unfair, is the first thought going through my head. But life isn’t fair.
    A great reminder to value every moment, and do the best we can.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 5 people

  7. It is sad that we have to face death to understand how precious our life is? Let us learn from this wise young man and make a difference in our choices each day.

    Liked by 10 people

  8. A Floating Speck says:

    This brought tears to my eyes. My father died of cancer and during his last days his eyes were bright and full life . He fought until the very end. I hope you win your battle with cancer where ever you are ❤️

    Liked by 8 people

  9. flowerpoet says:

    Tears and a blessing…Life Energy cannot truly ‘die’ or be ‘destroyed’. Life always goes on… Many thanks for sharing his message to inspire love and reverence for Life.

    Liked by 4 people

  10. Wendy says:

    What an poignant reflection and great advice. I’ve re-blogged this on brilliancewithin.com – thank you so much for sharing as a reminder to us all….

    Liked by 5 people

  11. Karen says:

    You have made a difference in my life. Thank you for your words, so beautifully written. They are an inspiration to me.

    Liked by 5 people

  12. Life is misunderstood often till death knocks at the door, then normals true life’s meaning becomes evident. In the past three years, I have cheated death at least four times, through illness not through thrill seeking; that’s why I started my blog. It’s not selfish to want your knowledge of life to be heard, wish I could let that young man know that he is rare today; with his words, he may be the one that changes someone’s life for the better. Selfishness would be passing, and not say anything that may enlighten another. I can tell you, I’ve always lived life honest, no matter what life gave me, but about three years ago, even I was taken aback by how profound life really is. At 64, I consider myself lucky, not too long ago, three years, I was pronounced dead; you bet I’m willing to talk about what’s important. Thank you for sharing, if I could pass anything on here, it’s: Life’s too short for worrying, but never too short or late for understanding.

    Liked by 7 people

  13. 30tolifeblog says:

    I feel compelled to comment on this young man’s beautifully bright perspective. I still find myself trying to place myself in the shoes of those who are terminal. However, I cannot do that because I am still going to live, and hopefully for a long time. I had to cry reading this because my mother , although not 25 (61), is really struggling with the fact that she has months to live. She was diagnosed in Feb.2016 with terminal colon Cancer. She fights for her life because, well it is what she has always done. However, instead of her focusing on what is in front of her she is making ridiculous moves as to act out against everyone. I think she feels she need to have a last “hoorah” before she passes. I will share this post with her because I am repetitive in telling her to love who and what she has now and live like every day is the last.
    “You can float through a life created by circumstances, missing day after day, hour after hour”…
    This is a word to the living, we are ALL terminal, so we should find joy, happiness and things to be grateful for with each day. There should be no hang ups on what “coulda, woulda, shoulda’s”!!! We have to do our part in our happiness and two of the biggest things that contribute to that is: Personal acceptance and Forgiveness.
    What an inspirational young man! I can only pray that people who know they are terminal could have such an outlook!

    Liked by 5 people

  14. “We care so much about the health and integrity of our body that until death, we don’t notice that the body is nothing more than a box – a parcel for delivering our personality, thoughts, beliefs and intentions to this world. If there is nothing in this box that can change the world, then it doesn’t matter if it disappears. ”

    Wow, just wow. Powerful words there. We are just a box. So true.

    Liked by 6 people

  15. patricepdx says:

    You matter. Your life has meaning. You can be sure that you have left a legacy. You have made an impact. Thank you

    Liked by 5 people

  16. quarksire says:

    wunder if he is still alive, the post was a year ago, an no replies or updates available i can find…ok..namaste’ 2 u frum da’ Q 🙂 great share!***

    Liked by 5 people

  17. Brave man, you are! Thank you for sharing your truth and passion. You have touched others including myself. The spirit lives on and cannot be confined in a box as you say. May you soar with the eagles! Blessings.

    Liked by 5 people

  18. Poignant words with great meaning; a gift to help others fulfill their lives so that this author can fulfill his own. We are all going to die, but how many of us will truly have lived our lives to their potential? Thank you for sharing this important message.

    Liked by 5 people

  19. Swoosieque says:

    This hit home, as one month from today (5/9/2016), will be the first earth-time anniversary of my 37 yr. old son’s death.

    I flew to stay with him and his little family to try to help, babysit the little ones (a 2 yr. old and a 4 yr. old) while his wife took him for hospital treatments, surgery, appointments. I watched him in the process of dying from pancreatic cancer, the mega-monster of all cancers.

    My son did not talk about his dying. He refused to lay in bed and just wait for death to take him. He participated in every day, as much as he could power-up to participate, even up until the morning when he finally agreed to his wife calling an ambulance to take him to the hospital. He and his wife expected him to live for another few days, or even a week. He died the next morning.

    His life, the children and wife he left behind are part of his legacy. The stories his brothers share about their lives as young children and teens are also a part of his legacy. For me, his mother, his entire life was a legacy of courage, strength and most of all, honesty.

    Thanks for posting this sad, but necessary story. Cancer is taking too many young people.

    Liked by 4 people

  20. It’s breakfast time, here, The Netherlands. I just read this touching text of yours. It gave me more expectations to keep living as you say “with passion.”
    Thank you for sharing your story. Thank you for being yourself.
    I will share this post, if you let me?!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. I love this! It’s such an important reminder that life is precious and time is indeed the most valuable thing we have. Spend it wisely. Everybody dies but not everyone lives! Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Reblogged this on Zen Headspace and commented:
    The ultimate Zen pespective. My heart goes out to the writer. Learn something from this young person: don’t wait until you are dying to figure out how to live your life. Live it NOW!

    Liked by 2 people

  23. I wish there was a “love” button for this post. I have two sons who nearly lost their lives in a car accident 11 years ago. They were given another opportunity to learn the lessons given in this post. I believe it changed their lives and mine. When you come so close to your last breath your perspective on what is important changes. I would encourage everyone to take the advice given in this post – it makes life so much better to live and not just survive.

    Liked by 3 people

  24. Ben Thomas says:

    That was so beautiful, I’m hoping and praying that the Lord restores your health and overcome cancer. It’s only in such situations I realize how valuable life is.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. This young man will not be gone forever. There is life after death. I think he’s made a good start by getting his priorities in order. Some would party their last days away. Why not?

    I pray he already knows Jesus. Failing that, I hope he will before his earthly end. Matthew records that Jesus cautions us that we can do nothing on our own; worry will not add to our stature or feed or clothe us. Have faith in Him, now and forever.

    Liked by 3 people

  26. David says:

    To pick up of a couple of comments so far:
    Firstly, many thanks for following Hanukah and the Angel.
    I often wonder why death is so misunderstood, but then, I know that there is a little piece of software built into our DNA to preserve life at any cost, how else would mankind have survived all this time? But I love the comment of the 24 year old (24YO), to leave the world a better place than when he came in to it and his simple realisations which I concur with whole heartedly and do my best to pass on to others!
    To me death is merely the final rite of passage for this life leading to another dimension where the next life will be decided upon. I also believe that the timing of our passing is known at a deep level within us, which some would refer to as Soul. Again, to me there is the feeling that that time is when our quest is done and the timing and manner of passing is often to bring realisations and a kick in the pants to those around us who need a jolt for them to understand the spirituality of life outside of the religious and often superstitious beliefs of the majority.
    The 24 YO also came close to the only image which we, with our limited vocabulary, can understand by referring to the essence of our being which brings our personality into being as a SPARK, the Silent Witness and the closest thing to Divinity within us.
    Thank you for sharing this brilliant piece which I have passed on to others on Facebook. Love David

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Divinity. The game plan that He has for us all. You’re right. All those recognising, here, that young man’s comments as a ‘wake up, call…’ to them… Death will arrive for all of us, at some stage in our lives. Better to recognise that fact and prepare for it. To organise, in one’s mind, the priorities that mean the most to you, so that, when you ‘shake off that mortal coil’, you have squared things in your mind, and can forfeit this planet in a happier frame of mind, than one not at ease with themselves… Wise words from a chappie still quite young. Sadness to reflect upon too… The lost…

    Liked by 2 people

  28. Reblogged this on Nichole Donje' and commented:
    “Listen to your inner voice and go with it. Some people may call you crazy, but some may even think you‘re a legend.”

    I just found this on the blog of a new follower. I have never re-blogged something, however I cannot NOT re-blog this. It is everything we all need to hear. It is everything I want to be and do with this gift we call life. I hope this young man is doing well. I also hope he knows he has done what he wanted and intended to do.

    Thank you MakeItUltra for sharing.

    Original Link: https://redd.it/2xc947

    Namaste’

    Liked by 3 people

  29. Mozer G. says:

    very beautiful. there’s an old Jewish saying “live in constant repentence because today might be your last” obviously not only repentance…
    thanks for the post…

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Tasneem says:

    Wow.
    This made me cry.
    Profound words. Things we all ‘know’ but rarely live by because we never fully grasp that life really is short.

    Liked by 2 people

  31. annicaaktiv says:

    You have reached life’s insight before us, you know and understand as much. Life is about so much more than just myself, we will see later. Strength to you with love ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  32. t.dot says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Wow…this is beautiful. And it’s so fucking true. I wonder how many of us “wake up” just moments before we die? Thank you brave boy. Your gift and your legacy has been received. Love and light. Namaste xo

    Liked by 2 people

  33. boldall says:

    Reblogged this on Top T.E.N. and commented:
    Tears in my eyes and gratefulness in my heart for the writer of this post. I don’t know if you have departed this world yet, but I do know you had an impact.

    Liked by 2 people

  34. Tenacity T says:

    WOW! How brave of you and so beautifully and eloquently put! Thank you for giving me this message. I will spread it around. God Bless you~I will be praying for you. This definitely a mark in the world well made by you.

    Liked by 2 people

  35. Thank you for sharing, this is a very important message for myself and many others. I learned much the same lessons from Paulo Coelho’s book Veronika Decides to Die, although they are very different cases… fiction vs non-fiction, and other differences.
    I am very grateful to come across this.

    Liked by 2 people

  36. Akaluv says:

    I wish more people realized they need to be happy in life and not do want other people want them to do. This 24-year-old is very brave.

    Liked by 2 people

  37. Aniki says:

    Reblogged this on Pianomes and commented:
    Profoundly touching. Puts everything into perspective. Thank you so much for sharing. Reblogging to remind of the reverence we need to maintain for ourselves and everyone and everything around us

    Liked by 2 people

  38. GirlMasked says:

    Thanks for sharing this. It is very inspiring and touching. Some great advice and words of wisdom here 🙂 Such a brave writer!

    Liked by 1 person

  39. This was more than beautiful, it was AWESOME! Your words will be around for a long, long time my friend. Thanks for sharing these words of wisdom with us. Life is definitely but a short spark in this little Planet we call life and I appreciate you for sharing yours with us and the world. God Bless You and the Life you have lived up to this point. Much Love ~

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Hi there, amazing blog post, thank you for the courage to be vulnerable. I have just had major surgery for thyroid cancer which had spread into all the lymph in my neck and although my prognosis is good, I’ve benefited hugely from reading Dying To Be Me by Anita Moorjani. You may know her story of almost spontaneous remission following a near death experience with only moments left to live having fought cancer for years, but if not I highly recommend it. It’s a beautiful read and while her journey is extremely unique and well, hers, it gives some great insights which you might appreciate at this stage. Thank you for sharing and sending you love from Scotland x

    Liked by 1 person

  41. That was SO powerful. I’m fighting the tears right now! He is so right and I’m so fortunate that I realized this myself, recently, and still have time to ‘hopefully’ leave something behind. For someone, somewhere, somehow. For the world maybe. Who knows. God bless him! And with three son’s it hits way too close to home for me. I wish I could hug him right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. What a beautiful post! As a near death experiencer, I know all of these things to be true. I came back after being clinically dead for two minutes and experiencing the love and bliss of the afterlife. Your thoughts are true wisdom, and I’m glad that so many people can hear you clearly. Thank you for your message of love, and may you be forever blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Reblogged this on Tricia Barker and commented:
    Those who are young and nearing death can also bring great wisdom to the world. I know our time here is short, even if we live to be over a 100 years of age. I hope you might be blessed by the wise words of this 24-year old.

    Liked by 1 person

  44. WOAH. So much love for this, and for that insightful man. This is everything: “We care so much about the health and integrity of our body that until death, we don’t notice that the body is nothing more than a box – a parcel for delivering our personality, thoughts, beliefs and intentions to this world. If there is nothing in this box that can change the world, then it doesn’t matter if it disappears.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] MakeItUlta – Advice from a Dying 24 year-old: I began following Eric for a few months now and he is all about spreading the blog love. This post was a reblog of a post he found. This brought tears to my eyes. The knowledge and wisdom coming from this 24 year-old is inspiring and heartfelt. I feel each and every one of us would benefit from reading this post. […]

    Liked by 2 people