Choosing the Right Career

By Eric Perry, PhD-c


“It is our choices… that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” ~J. K. Rowling

1. Preserve your body, use your mind
If you choose a career that requires your body, what will happen when your body ages, or if you get injured? If you must choose a career that uses your body, consider doing work that has minimal impact on your joints and limbs.

2. Consider your budget 
Your financial situation does influence your options. Some career paths require special education, which can be expensive. Be resourceful. There are many government programs that provide financial aid, scholarship opportunities, apprenticeships and grants.

3. Explore your interests & skills
What do you enjoy doing? What are you good at? It is important to “know thyself,” before making any major commitments to a specific career. This is especially true if you plan to apply for student loans. If you are interested in a specific field, research it thoroughly. Apply for internships and shadow professionals already in the field.

4. Accept that you will need to work extra hard
You cannot become your greatest self by being patient and waiting for it to happen. If you have been making excuses, stop. Start waking up early and maximizing every hour. Stay up late and do some extra research. Don’t wait to be inspired. Inspire yourself by putting in the work. Every successful person knows that effort is directly related to results.

5. Choose the career before the education
Every year people graduate from college only to realize years later they should have gone to a trade school or vice versa. Most people go to college assuming they will figure out what specifically they want to do with the degree, after they graduate. In reality, it is better to choose the career, before choosing the education. By choosing the education first, you limit yourself to careers associated with that specific education.


www.MakeItUltraPsychology.com
Specializing in a solution focused and results driven approach to psychotherapy, specifically treating narcissistic abuse, depression, anxiety and relationship issues
Verified by Psychology Today
Verified by Network Therapy
Verified by GoodTherapy.org


miu1

image2 2.JPG

image3 2

miualmostdne

image1 (2)C


© 2017 MAKEITULTRA.COM ALL RIGHTS RESERVED


DISCLAIMER
The materials and content contained in this website are for general information only and are not intended to be a substitute for professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Users of this website should not rely on the information provided for their own health needs. All specific questions should be presented to your own health care provider.

USE AGREEMENT
In consideration for your use of and access to this website, you agree that in no event will MakeItUltra™ be liable to you in any manner whatsoever for any decision made or action or non-action taken by you in reliance upon the information provided through this website.

FOR IMMEDIATE SUPPORT
If you need support right now, call the Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255. You can reach the Crisis Text Line by texting “START” to 741-741.

 

33 responses to Choosing the Right Career

  1. 😍😍😍😍 My favorite quote, my favorite author, my favorite series….ever in the history of ever. I would be one of those that chose and pursued my degree before knowing what I really wanted to do. Words of wisdom here.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Barbara says:

    It’s a little late for me to take this advice, even though I appreciate it very much. I never thought that I could have a career simply doing what I loved, it really didn’t occur to me. Work was something that had to be done, no choices, just “get a job”. I was just 15 when I started work, and had no idea that I was ‘good’ at anything. There were occasions when I enjoyed what I did, but they were few and far between. I wish I could have had this advice.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Margarita says:

      Like you, Barbara, I, too, started working at 15 and from there I did what I had to do to pay the bills and raise my daughter. Now that I’m in my so-called “twilight years” I’m doing an inventory of the skills I’ve accumulated and honed over a lifetime, and looking for different ways to apply them. I still need to work. At this time of my life, however, I’m no longer willing to suffer through work. Thanks for sharing your story and reminding me of mine! 😉 xoM

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your posts are just awesome…. We know motivation doesn’t last long but whenever i’ll feel it’s lacking a bit…i’ll switch to your blog…. I’ll surely follow .. Keep writing like this… 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Crystal Ann says:

    I especially like the part in Step 4 where it states: “Don’t wait to be inspired. Inspire yourself by putting in the work. Every successful person knows that effort is directly related to results.” This is so true. Thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

    • four2tangoblog says:

      Indeed, it is ¨(one of) my motos ”work to live, not live to work.” So many people just live to work – not quite by pleasure but because they have too many financial stressors (a.k.a. things). What really bothers me lately is that in our North American society we work so much that we’re too tired to really enjoy ourselves when we’re off. Plus, because we work 35 plus hours a week (often during our primetime) we’re not taking care of our kids, house, living activities (i.e.: groceries, appointments, etc.).
      I really love Pink Floyd’s ”Breathe” lyrics. They explain this dilemma so well! In retrospective I think they calling for a change – to warn people. Yet some 40 years later, people haven’t learned yet. We’re still living in the same pattern and if not way worse. I know we need money – and I am the first in line to complain – but we need to think about our health and quality of life before letting ourselves die in a job in order to survive.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I think number 3 was the only one needed. know thyself is so important. I’m a firm believer that everyone should just do what they are naturally good at. that’s how the most successful people built their careers and studies show that passion is a natural by product of mastery.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sonnische says:

    You’ve nailed it, Eric. I decided to become a psychologist over 30 years ago after a very similar process, assessing my abilities (innate intelligence, perseverance, curiosity, motivation) and my aims (be of service, use my abilities, make a good living, have a profession that is respected), and moving forward relentlessly despite untold hardships, crises, discouragement, disapproval of others, and even divorce. I was 34 then, and 9 years later had been awarded my doctorate. I availed myself of my college’s career counseling center and a primitive computer program that helped me narrow down my options to medical doctor, attorney, social worker and psychologist. It was a no-brainer then and I still feel certain today that I made the right choice. The student loans were daunting but I paid them off as fast as I could. No regrets! Best of luck and perseverance to you on this journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. KJ Smith says:

    I’m going through this with my son, right now. It can be quite a stressful process. “Am I sure this is what I want to do? Am I making the right decision?” I was happy to find this post! Oh, and #4 – great reminder for any stage in one’s career! And a smack on the back of the head for some of us . 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

