5 Amazing Benefits of Classical MusicšŸŽ¼

Written by Eric C., MA., PhD Candidate

AudioĀ version available | Click here


“Music is the universal language of mankind” ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Around my house I am known as the music man. I have the habit of walking around with my iPhone in my pocket playing music on Spotify. I love all music because it makes me feel happy and alive. Research shows that classical music is exceptionally beneficialĀ for your brain and overall health. The way classical music affects the brain is universal regardless of gender, class or nationality. Wouldn’t it be great if listening to Beethoven or Mozart could unite us all?

Here are Ā 5 ways classical music benefits us all:

1. Improves your focus
Numerous studies have shown that listening to classical music such as Bach, Mozart and Beethoven can improve focus. Complex and continuously changing melodies can help the mind focus by keeping it engaged. When your brain is expecting to hear a certain note but is surprised by an unexpected chord or harmony, a cognitive stumble occurs, which makes the part of your brain that isĀ responsible for attention to become engaged. Try listening to some classical music theĀ next time you need to focus on a task or have a long study session. A little Mozart goes a long way !

2. Lowers blood pressureĀ 
In the words of Henry Ward Beecher, “Of all the music that reached farthest into heaven, it is the beating of a loving heart.” Classical music helps to keepĀ theĀ heart healthy. A study from the university of San Diego compared changes in blood pressure among individuals listening to classical, jazz, pop or no music. Those listening Ā to classical music had significantly lower systolic blood pressure than the other groups. Other studies have shown that listening to Mozart lowers both blood pressure and heart rate. Amazingly, research revealsĀ that classical music can even improve cardio circulatory functioning.

3. Improves immune system
“Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and charm and gaiety to life and everything” ~Plato

Studies have shown that listening to classical music can boost your immune system. When we listen to music that touches us on a deep emotional level our bodies produce certain immunity boosting hormones that help ward off illnesses. In our current high stress culture it is not always easy to maintain healthy levels of cortisol. High levels of cortisol can lead to health problems so its important to maintain a healthy balance. By listening to music we reduce our levels of stress, which in turn lowers cortisol levels. OneĀ can say that music thatĀ touches your soul will literally give you more life.

4. Improves Memory
Classical music makes your brain dance! In one study, EEG machines were used to record electrical brain activity of participants as they listened to classical music. People who listened to Mozart showed increased brain activity in areasĀ linked directly to memory, understanding and problem solving.

5. Relieves Pain
Studies have shown that patients who listen to classical music post-operation used significantly less pain medication than those who listened to no music. There are other studies that revealĀ it may alleviate chronic non-malignant pain. A study done on individuals who suffered chronic headaches showed that when music was paired with their normal medical treatment they were better able to cope with pain. Of course classical music should not replace medication, but a little classical music does no harmĀ and might help alleviate some pain.

One Last Note! šŸŽ¼
If you are lucky enough to be musicallyĀ gifted, don’t just listen to music play it!
In the 1990’s, a theory called The Mozart Effect was developed stating that listening to Mozart makes you smarter. Parents took to this theory like wildfire and had their children listen to Mozart in the womb. The widely accepted theory now is that there is nothing uniquely beneficial about Mozart’s music. Rather, taking any music lessons at an early age enhances brain function and structure. Children with musical training do better in language, reading and math than children who have not had similar training. The good news is you don’t need to become a virtuoso. Just half hour a day will benefit your brain.

I hope you enjoyed this read as much as I enjoyed writing it. Please don’t forget to like, comment and share!

Kind regards,
Eric


miu1.jpg

image1

image3 2

image2 2.JPG

miualmostdne


WebsiteĀ |Ā MakeItUltraPsychology.com
Email |Ā Contact@MakeItUltra.com
Verified by Psychology Today


Ā© 2017 MAKEITULTRA.COM ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

60 responses to 5 Amazing Benefits of Classical MusicšŸŽ¼

    • MakeItUltraā„¢ says:

      Hi Samantha! I’m glad to hear it was helpful for himšŸŒŸ I listened to it all throughout writing my dissertation and it was huge difference maker āœØ thank you for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. poeturja says:

    Great post! I have to say, though, that I’m not musically gifted but have taught myself to play ukulele and other strings and receive all the benefits you mention. It makes me so happy to plunk, thunk and strum that I find myself laughing. šŸ˜€

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ren says:

    Wonderful and much needed information here. Thank you!
    My adult son has listened to classical music since he was a kid. He has always said it is the best music to listen to, regardless of what his friends thought.
    ren

    Liked by 2 people

    • MakeItUltraā„¢ says:

      Hi Ren, he sounds like an intelligent young man with great taste in music šŸ™‚ have a wonderful day and thank you for commenting !

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LeighJhanel says:

    I love this. It’s so true. Classical music has helped me for many years and really calms me. This actually inspired me to write about it in my own way. Thank you so much.

    Liked by 3 people

    • MakeItUltraā„¢ says:

      Thank you so much and I look forward to reading your post šŸ™‚

      Like

  4. sherparts says:

    Love the post amazing work dude. I play trombone and it does wonders for my creativity and overall well being. It’s like meditation in a way!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This is really interesting. I play music in my classroom. The children are all 4 and 5 and I often put some classical music on or something relaxing when I want them to concentrate and not rush their work. Last year I used to talk with my class about the types of music I enjoy and the children had their favorites too. As well as the current popular music , I often got requests for Beatles songs during art activities:)

    Liked by 3 people

    • MakeItUltraā„¢ says:

      Hi Carly , hope you are well. Music has always been a big part of my life. I love all types of music and like the children in your classroom I respond accordingly to what is playing. I definitely go for a crazier beat when I work out ! Have a great weekend āœØ

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah! What impeccable timing: this past Monday I had a brain MRI. The staff asked what kind of music, and I told them the exact public radio station to tune. It helped me focus and meditate during the next 70 minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ladyinthemountains says:

    Reblogged this on My Rants, Dreams, and Thoughts on Everything and commented:
    My three kids have been involved in music all their lives. Two were/are bank geeks. All three were choir geeks. One is studying to be a music teacher. One played clarinet starting in 5th grade, sax by 15, and several other instruments. Two were in dance young. One played the violin since 4 and then drum line and now flute. They have all been super bright. One was valedictorian and majored in math. The other two are extremely smart . I truly believe in the correlation between music and intelligence. My youngest listens to opera in his car and sings along. Music bonds the four of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for the post. I can personally testify to the truth of the statement about music, and its benefits. I find all music beneficial for the above named reasons, but I particularly enjoy classical. Delighted you shared this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joy says:

    I knew there was a good reason for my liking classical music! šŸ™‚ Great post, I agree, music has an effect on our emotional health and well being. I never knew that it improved memory, though! Good to know. I’ll try to listen to it more often, I have a terrible memory. Will definitely do that. . . if I don’t forget! lol

    Liked by 2 people

  10. anandsbase says:

    As a practicing classical musician; the part that caught me most was ‘When your brain is expecting to hear a certain note but is surprised by an unexpected chord or harmony, a cognitive stumble occurs, which makes the part of your brain that is responsible for attention to become engaged.’… I agree totally with this. Well put!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakeItUltraā„¢ says:

      I am so glad you enjoyed this. Thank you for commenting! āœØ

      Like

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks